Alexis Bacon

Alexis Bacon is a composer recognized nationally and internationally for her acoustic and electroacoustic music, having won awards such as the IAWM Search for New Music Pauline Oliveros Prize, the Ossia International Composition Prize, and the ASCAP/SEAMUS student composition commission.  She has also received grants and awards from the Indiana Arts Council, the Percussive Arts Society, the American Music Center, and ASCAP, and commissions from the duo Due East, the Bro-Fowler Duo, Duo Corcra, violinist Robert Simonds, and consortiums led by percussionist Brad Meyer and saxophonist Wilson Poffenberger.  A Fulbright scholar to France, she studied music composition in Paris with Betsy Jolas before attending graduate school at the University of Michigan, where her composition teachers included William Bolcom, Michael Daugherty, Evan Chambers and Susan Botti.  Also skilled as a violist and pianist, she remains active as a performer.  She has taught at the University of Michigan, West Texas A&M University, Indiana State University, and the University of Indianapolis, and spends her summers teaching at Interlochen Arts Camp.  She is currently Assistant Professor of Music Composition at Michigan State University.


Cowboy Song